America Has a New National Treasure

The Flag for Hope Promotes Unity, Honor and Peace

Providence, RI. October 27, 2016 – After an 18-month journey spanning more than 300,000 miles, we announce that The Flag for Hope is complete. The Flag for Hope is the centerpiece of a non-political social movement to promote unity, honor and peace. More than 3,700 Americans placed their finger and hand prints in acrylic paint on canvas to create a giant 9’x5’ image of the American flag. The 50 Stars on the flag were personally painted by iconic Americans, including such notables as Muhammad Ali, Sandra Day O’Connor, Roger Staubach, Gloria Estefan, Jack Nicklaus, Smokey Robinson, Billie Jean King and Tom Selleck.

“This truly is a National Treasure,” says Executive Director, Chris Cavedon. “This Flag represents the spirit of America and clearly demonstrates that we are one country, one people. The Flag for Hope includes people of all races, all ages, all economic circumstances… from a homeless veteran in New Orleans to a Nobel Prize winner in Massachusetts.”

The final handprint on The Flag for Hope was placed by Assistant Chief of the Dallas Police Department, Christina Smith, on September 18, 2016 in Dallas, TX. (raw and produced video available for use)

“There was no more fitting place to end our journey than Dallas,” says Cavedon. “One of our core principles is to honor the contribution and sacrifice of active military, veterans, and first responders. Earlier this year, Dallas suffered an unthinkable tragedy with the murder of 5 police officers. We chose to hold our closing ceremony there to support the work being done in Dallas to unite and heal the community.”

The Flag for Hope will embark on national museum tour beginning in Fall/Winter 2017. The exhibit will feature a highly interactive experience leveraging a huge catalog of more than 100,000 images, and over 1000 hours of video footage shot during the creation of the Flag for Hope. After its nationwide tour, the Flag for Hope will go on permanent exhibit at a National Museum to be preserved for future generations of Americans.

About The Flag for Hope

Reverse Side of The Flag for Hope

All 50 Stars signed the back of the canvas

The Flag for Hope Promotes Unity, Honor, and Peace for All Americans. The blue field and red and white stripes were created by more than 3,700 Americans, including 500+ veterans, hundreds of police, fire and rescue, numerous Olympians and notable sports figures, business leaders, community leaders, pioneers in medicine and science, and everyday American patriots. Most of the Flag for Hope’s hand and finger impressions were painted at churches, community centers, veteran’s centers, schools, colleges, hospitals, parks, and other places where communities gather for a shared purpose.

The 50 Stars on The Flag for Hope were personally painted by 50 Iconic Americans, chosen for both their individual achievements and their exceptional service to others.

The 50 Flag for Hope Stars

Each Flag for Hope star individually painted his or her star and signed the back of the canvas. (raw and produced photo & video of each star is available for use)

  1. Senator John McCain
  2. Justice Sandra Day O’Connor
  3. Muhammad Ali
  4. Battalion Chief Jack Pritchard
  5. Lee Ielpi
  6. John Mara
  7. Bonnie Blair
  8. Nadia Comaneci & Bart Connor
  9. George Foreman
  10. Bob Wieland
  11. Randy White
  12. Helene Neville
  13. Eric Heiden
  14. Kris Kristofferson
  15. Alan Hassenfeld
  16. Captain Florent Groberg
  18. Bill Walton
  19. Ann Meyers Drysdale
  20. Anita L. DeFrantz
  21. Richard “Dick” Enberg
  22. Lieutenant Brian Sweeney
  23. Dr. Leonard Bailey
  24. Tom Dreesen
  25. Gary Keller
  26. Ronnie Lott
  27. Mike Love
  28. Rick & Dick Hoyt
  29. Billie Jean King
  30. Bill Self
  31. Pat Boone
  32. Rafer Johnson
  33. Tom Selleck
  34. Jackie Joyner Kersee
  35. Dr. Craig Mello
  36. Gloria & Emilio Estefan
  37. Tamika Catchings
  38. Smokey Robinson
  39. Andy Garcia
  40. Admiral Patrick M. Walsh
  41. Jack Nicklaus
  42. Lieutenant General Michelle Johnson
  43. Carlos Santana
  44. Harvey Mackay
  45. Roger Staubach
  46. General Tom Ryan
  47. Sargent Melvin Morris
  48. Major General James Livingston
  49. Brigadier General Michael Neil
  50. General Colin Powell